Pagan Reader

Review: The Witch’s Almanac

Posted on: October 20, 2010

I purchased the 2008 edition of the The Witch’s Almanac from a charity store last month.  I paid for less than a third of the original price, so I was quite happy with it.  It didn’t matter that it was an older edition.  I had thought to purchase a newer edition, whether for 2010 or the 2011 one later in the year, thinking that the contents would change every year.  But I happened to see a copy of the 2010 edition of the Almanac when I was browsing around in WH Smith a few weeks later, and decided to have a quick look through it before deciding whether or not I should purchase it.  And thank goodness I did, as I was disappointed  by what was in it.  It was practically the same as the 2008 edition.  The only thing about the almanac that changes are the dates, and the rhythms of the moon, sun and planets and the cover.  It has all the same spells, rituals and information, and poems.  (Each section for the months has a poem at the end of it).  Even the illustrations are the same.

One would be better off, just buying one edition of the book, and buying a Witch’s Calendar, which has the rhythms on each day, and special dates marked.  Any other days important to your specific Path you can just add yourself.  For that, I would recommend The Witch’s Calendar published by Llewelyn.

Leave a Reply

